The Road Less Traveled

Just another WordPress.com site

Feathers From Heaven – Book Review

Feathers from Heaven is a very powerful book. When I first started reading it I was not sure how I felt about it. By the end of the book I felt like I was a close friend of Denise Briley. As an author but more importantly, a mother, Denise takes readers into one of the most intimate moments of her life, the passing of her son. I literally felt like I was in the room with her when he passed away. My heart broke for her and I could feel, what I can only imagine, was a tiny glimpse of the pain that she felt.

The book was not just about the death of her son but it was a great story of how God uses us when we are not expecting it in ways that we never thought possible. It is the story of how her family’s move to a new town was hard in many ways, including the difficulty that came with finding a new church home. Her story then showed how God would use her and her son to start a ministry for kids with special needs. This ministry has now turned into one of the most successful special needs ministries around.

The thought I was left with after reading Feathers from Heaven was this: whatever God is calling you to do, do it. Do not be scared. He will not lead you down the wrong path. You may not think you have the “gifting” needed for the job/ministry/whatever it is that God is calling to do but God will show you that you have everything you need. He will stretch you; he will take you places you never dreamed. Just say ‘yes’ and follow him.

I love this poem that Denise wrote and shared at the end of the book. I hope you are

 

Feather from Heaven

God my God has refreshed me with grace

God my God has restored a true smile to my face

When I felt the sun would no longer shine

God my God made me realize he is mine

Though tempted to quit the running of my race

God my God placed his feathers on my face

In the sin of life and the journey of grief

It was He all along who would bring my relief

So now, I live free to be his daughter of grace

Knowing it was truly Him, my Lord, who placed his feathers on my face.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Feathers From Heaven – Book Review

  1. Laura Bernstein on said:

    what a beautiful review…i found ‘the road less traveled’ in such a roundabout way … it was just what i needed today…thank you

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

